More Bad Behavior

27 Jul

“This is for Jenna Langer?” Julia asked again, scribbling down numbers recited to her over the phone. “Can you say them again?” she asked, following each line of numbers with the ballpoint of her pen.

My blood counts inexplicably took a nosedive from last week, completely wrecking the weeks-long upward curve I’ve enjoyed since leaving the hospital. Some of my counts are even in transfuse-able territory, a place I haven’t been since they bottomed out in the transplant unit.

On the homestretch to Day 100, my family and I are not amused by these dramatic blips.

I could see the thoughts barreling behind Julia’s grimace. “I want to see you again on Friday,” she said. “If your counts keep falling, we’ll have to do a bone marrow biopsy next week to see what’s going on in your bone marrow.”

After more of my medical team weighed in, the agreed-upon hope is that this unwelcome slip is a fluke – a result of the anti-viral treatment for CMV plus the hemorrhagic cystitis, which is draining valuable hemoglobin and platelets from my system. To more quickly get rid of the latter, they’ve switched me to 24 hours of the backpack fluids. I’m the most hydrated girl you’ll ever meet.

In anticipation of Friday, I’m doing some inner-coaching of my bone marrow. “Donor cells – fight. Jenna cells – give it up.” I’ve never wanted so badly to be somebody else – my dear donor. 

12 Responses to “More Bad Behavior”

  1. Connie July 27, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

    Dang! Sure hope it’s all a fluke.

  2. Lori Thom July 27, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    CHEERING on your donors Marrow!!! Continue to think of you often! Lori

  3. Linda Hornick July 27, 2011 at 7:20 pm #

    Jenna,

    Let’s all pray that this is just a fluke thing. Keep up the inner coaching and know we are all rooting for you and praying for you. Hang in there!

  4. Karen Torseth July 27, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

    Praying for you Jenna…Hang in there! It will be all worth the fight!!!

  5. Greg Kaiser July 27, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

    Go donor cells go!!!

  6. Robin Guadagnini July 28, 2011 at 7:42 am #

    GO Donor Cells GO!!
    Kick Some Butt Donor Cells Kick!!
    Fight Donor Cells Fight!!
    Knock Jenna’s Cells to the Curb!!
    Go, Kick, Fight!!!

    Sending prayers and a hugs too!
    Robin

  7. Catherine July 28, 2011 at 9:10 am #

    Go donor cells! Kick some butt!!! I am praying for you Jenna.

    Catherine

  8. Sally Squires July 28, 2011 at 10:05 am #

    Jenna: I know that you will soon whip those blood cells into shape! Sending you lots and lots of good thoughts and prayers from DC.
    Cheers,
    Sally

  9. April Nelson July 28, 2011 at 11:30 am #

    Cheering for those donor cells to win!!

  10. Rose Forst July 28, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    Hey Jenna- We are praying your donor cells are ready to take the lead. Go donor, go donor, now that will be playing in my head. Thinking of you often

  11. Clare July 28, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    As you said, the lower counts could be from a number of things! Keep the faith! Running 10 miles on Saturday with the Leukemia Society and will be thinking of you. Hang in there!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Belt It « The Redhead Report - July 31, 2011

    […] white blood cells – rising all by themselves by a whole point – lend us real hope that this unwelcome drop in my blood counts is really a result of the hemorrhagic cystitis, not a problem with my graft. That’s what we’re […]

Leave a Reply

