Not So Good Behavior

25 Jul

Well that didn’t take long. Almost as soon as my little red car eeked up the steep driveway to our little red house, I didn’t feel quite right. After a weekend of hoping it would get better, I went to Mayo on Tuesday and initially baffled the doctors. With symptoms getting worse, we made the trek again to Mayo last Thursday to figure out what was really going on – something called hemorrhagic cystitis (HC). You can look it up if you want. Not fun.

We go back to Mayo tomorrow to learn more details, but basically it’s a painful condition caused by one of my dirty chemo drugs – Cytoxin – that sat in my bladder too long and wrecked things, even though we took all the proper precautions.

So in addition to the IV anti-viral medicine at home, I’m now on some serious fluids for 12 hours a day.  Let’s just say I make a run (or downright sprint) for the little girls room about every 8 – 30 minutes. It’s pleasant, really. I don’t know how long I need to be on these fluids, but the docs ordered a month’s worth. Ugh.

Now I’m my own little walking pharmacy, with UPS boxes crammed with medical supplies arriving almost daily: 

My body needs to stop being so dramatic. It’s one big fun circle of revenge. My osteosarcoma treatment caused thyroid cancer and MDS, and now the treatment for MDS caused hemorrhagic cystitis. Pull yourself together, body.

Jimmy likes to remind me that I’m doing pretty well for having my entire immune and blood system kicked to the curb, but these setbacks are hard when I’m supposed to be getting better every day. But we decided I have a new opening line: “Hi, my name is Jenna. I can grow a new immune system. What can you do?” It will also make a nice bolded bullet on my resume. 

Next time I hope to have real adventures to report from the Motherland. 

To leave a comment,just click on “Comments” below this post. It will take you to a new page. Scroll to the bottom where it says “Leave a Reply.” Fill in your name, email address, and your comment in the boxes. When you’re finished, click “Post Comment.” It’s great to hear from you.

9 Responses to “Not So Good Behavior”

  1. Brittany Rask July 25, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    I like your opening line lol, didn’t you always want to be a super hero? I think it’s a pretty sweet power, or new pick up line at the bar. I think they should of given you a sweet fanny pack tho to carry around all the liquids. Wishing you well, keep er going.

  2. Alex R July 25, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

    I think that could definitely fit in “Activities/Awards” section of your resume 🙂 Miss you!

  3. Brianne Ketteman July 25, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

    Get well soon! I hope your body pulls itself together quickly! Your resume has got to be packed already, but if you’re going to add anything to it, I think “growing an immune system” would definitely be an attention-grabber, lol.

  4. Kelli passalacqua July 25, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

    Hi Jenna – sorry for this. Thinking of you. I’m away most of this week. Will catch up with you soon.

  5. Greg Kaiser July 25, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    Hang in there!!! You are doing great!!!

  6. Julaine Balbach July 25, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

    Uggghhhhh, Jenna!!!! I am so sorry that you have to go through this agony of ill-fated setbacks! This is awful! Please know that you continue to be in our thoughts and prayers! As always…….

  7. Karen July 25, 2011 at 11:18 pm #

    Jenna, I wish you didn’t keep having to teach us (by example) new medical terms! Hang in there. Better days ahead!

    (by the way, I didn’t really believe you when you said you had something like a baby bottle, but the picture totally proves I was wrong!)

  8. Robin Guadagnini July 25, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

    Hey Your body is doing great…I just hate you have to go through all these “little” blips in the road on the way to perfect health! But if anyone can do it you can!!!

  9. Karen Torseth July 26, 2011 at 11:26 am #

    Hang in their Jenna…This is just another obstacle that you will face head on and conquer!! Praying for you!!!

Leave a Reply

