Plain Old Good News

16 Jun

Today offered a huge sigh of relief. The results of my Day +30 bone marrow biopsy are back and all three measures that determine if my transplant worked have proven it did!

First, the pathologist sees no blasts and no traces of MDS. Second, my bone marrow is 100% my donor’s, based on DNA. Apparently, even 98% or 99% her DNA would have had the doctors worried, so good thing this wasn’t an algebra test. Who am I kidding – that would have landed me in the 70s or 80s for sure.

I sort of jumped the gun with this information on Tuesday when those two results came back, telling people here it proved my bone marrow transplant worked, only to find out from Julia that the third measure – chromosomal abnormalities – was the biggest piece of the puzzle.

Today Dr. Kahn called and said the biopsy showed no chromosomal abnormalities in my marrow, meaning the cells with the chromosomes that were all out of whack before that caused the MDS were not there, killed by my large doses of chemotherapy.  So I’m not a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle, as Jimmy would have called me. Whew. 

The news couldn’t be better. Granted, I have to get several other biopsies down the line that could show changing results – the first on Day +100 – but things are looking up. Exhale.

P.S.  My computer is rejecting my USB port. I promise I’ll get those photos of the Transplant House up soon!

 

To leave a comment,just click on “Comments” below this post. It will take you to a new page. Scroll to the bottom where it says “Leave a Reply.” Fill in your name, email address, and your comment in the boxes. When you’re finished, click “Post Comment.” It’s great to hear from you!

20 Responses to “Plain Old Good News”

  1. Robin Guadagnini June 16, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

    That is the absolute best news! I had to pull over -yes I was reading and driving – and I am now sittinf here crying for joy for you!! I am so excited. So thankful. And sao proud of you!!! What a Super woman you truly are! See being an overachiever pays off!!! Congratulations!!! And much love and hugs! Robin

  2. kalloyd June 16, 2011 at 5:45 pm #

    One word: Yay!!!

  3. Linda Hornick June 16, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

    Yay Jenna!!!! Your Mom was telling us about these tests when she got to work this morning! So glad this last test came back with good news!!! We were all hoping it would! We pretty much surrounded your Mom when she got to work. Was so good to see her and hear of your good news. I’m praying for you every day and love to read your blogs. Take Care!

  4. lotsofdishes June 16, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    this is awesome! your toughness paid off! i hope it continues to go well!!!!!
    -valerie

  5. Betsy (Willing) Price June 16, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

    soo glad you got good news! long ways to go yet but things are definitely looking up

  6. Lori Thom June 16, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

    GREAT NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. Julie Descarrega June 16, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

    That is the best news I have heard all day:):) I am telling you, it’s your fighting spirit that is keeping you strong! Soooooo happy for you! Hugs to you.

  8. Greg Kaiser June 16, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    Awesome!!! Very happy for you!!! Keep it up!!!

  9. Sally Squires June 16, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    Jenna: This is really promising news! I don’t want to get too cocky, but congratulations. This is a huge first step! Hooray from DC!!!
    All best,
    Sally

  10. Kirsten June 16, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

    This is amazingly good news!! So good to hear this!! Yay, Jenna!

    -Kirsten

  11. Vicki June 17, 2011 at 8:17 am #

    Just the results we’ve been praying for. God is good!

  12. Tiffany W June 17, 2011 at 8:28 am #

    Very happy for you Jenna! B-rad called me yesterday to share your wonderful news! I am so excited for you! Say hi to Jimmy for me! Sending you lots of love and hugs!
    Tiff

  13. Brett W June 17, 2011 at 9:39 am #

    Jenna: That’s great news to hear! This is the first time I’ve written a comment but know that I’ve been a frequent visitor. Thanks for taking the time to keep us all informed on your progress. Hope and prayers continue to go out to you.

    Brett

  14. Grandpa Dick June 17, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

    Terrific news Jenna! That show what tough girl, great medical car, and alot of prayers can do.

    Love you, Love you, Love you

    Grandpa & Grandma

  15. David I. Leavitt June 17, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

    Woo-hoo!!!!!!!!

  16. Julie June 20, 2011 at 5:45 pm #

    Hey Jenna,
    I am happy that you got good news. You are one tough lady who knows how to fight and yet you still have a sense of humor. I still want to come and see you so let me know when it works for you ok. Hugs to you and your mom!

  17. Brianne Ketteman June 21, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

    This is awesome news, Jenna! YAY!!!

  18. Susan Neale June 23, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

    Outstanding news, Jenna!! Lots of prayers for you and your steadfast courage will continue. This is wonderful news.

  19. Melissa Meyer June 23, 2011 at 9:41 pm #

    Great News Jenna! I’m so happy that things are looking up for you and hope it stays that way. I’ve been following your blog-you are a very talented writer and such an amazing person! Sending more prayers your way…

  20. Suzanne Lindley July 2, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

    Sooooooooooooooooooooooo AWESOME!!!!!

Leave a Reply

