Planning the Welcome Party

31 May

My white blood cell count still hasn’t budged. So, yes, all of you optimistic souls who picked today or any of the days preceding as THE day, dry those tears. I’m glad some people chose those days; no optimism would have been a major bummer. Plus, you’re in good company. I’m already out (is this the NCAA tournament?) and so is one of my main oncologists. But no worries, to be waiting on Day +19 (today) is pathetically conventional. I have until Day +31 before my docs start to get worried about engraftment.

If you haven’t voted in the super trendy poll I started taking in my last blog post, you should really place your bet. (Plus, you admittedly have a bit of an upper hand because you already know two days that aren’t THE day).

Otherwise, my health has been relatively uneventful – so uneventful that I’m sleeping about eight hours during the day. I’m still dependent on blood transfusions, so once- or twice- daily IV Benadryl certainly isn’t helping my lids stay propped open. Plus I like to think that my body is working really hard to welcome this new bone marrow. Perhaps they’re working overtime to plan an elaborate “Welcome Home to Jenna” party, complete with “Yes, This Is Your Body, Isn’t It a Pretty Place to Live?” banners, a “Fun With Jenna and Donor’s DNA” party game, and of course some sort of accompanying red cocktail.

In other news, it’s pretty vacant up on the Peds BMT unit. Two people dashed out of here in the last week, leaving a 6-year-old boy and me to hold the fort down. Apparently we’re getting two newbies to fill the unit right back up this week.

3-year-old Elizabeth beat me out of here. She also regularly beat me at "swimming" across the lobby floor and time spent wearing laser lights shoes.

To leave a comment,just click on “Comments” below this post. It will take you to a new page. Scroll to the bottom where it says “Leave a Reply.” Fill in your name, email address, and your comment in the boxes. When you’re finished, click “Post Comment.” It’s great to hear from you!

2 Responses to “Planning the Welcome Party”

  1. Betsy (Willing) Price June 1, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    glad you’re sleeping good at least! rest is the best thing for a healing body…
    I voted the 31st so I’m out…I was tempted to say the 2nd (my 4th anniversary) but that jus didn’t seem right…we shall see though
    yay for the 3yr old making it out you’ll join her soon ^-^

  2. Lorraine Baumgardner June 1, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

    Don’t know if this will give anyone an edge in your poll, but my research has uncovered the fact that the first several days in June serve as some interesting holidays that may forecast your white blood cell bump:

    Day Holiday

    1 Dare Day

    1 Flip a Coin Day

    2 National Bubba Day

    3 National Doughnut Day

    2 National Rocky Road Day

    3 Repeat Day (I said “Repeat Day”)

    4 Applesauce Cake Day

    4 Hug Your Cat Day

    4 Old Maid’s Day

    5 World Environment Day

    6 National Gardening Exercise Day

    6 National Yo-Yo Day

    7 National Chocolate Ice Cream Day

Leave a Reply

