Teamwork

28 May

By now I’m sure you’ve noticed it takes a hefty fleet to take care of me. And not just any fleet – a brilliantly competent team of doctors and nurses that handles the curveballs I throw almost every day. A team that is together on their toes. Because of this, I have the utmost faith in their care.

Why? Sure, it’s the Mayo Clinic. But what makes them so good? After nearly 5 weeks in the hospital, I can tell you a big part of it is their teamwork.

Every morning my hem/onc team visits, led by an experienced consultant and supported by a fellow, a few residents, nurse practitioners and my nurse. And they bring me on to the team, letting me in on the day’s problems and asking my opinion on solutions. They communicate to me how powerful my role on the team is. If I take responsibility for the simple, yet painfully monotonous daily tasks that patients often begin to forfeit – keep eating, do my four-times-daily mouth cares, keep on top of my mental care – I can accomplish far better outcomes.

And that’s just my hem/onc team on daily rounds. There’s a whole major league team back at the Mayo Clinic that is consulted and kept up-to-date of my stats, because every few weeks they rotate in and become my new team at the hospital. And if there’s a staph infection that’s a bit out of my hem/onc team’s expertise or I have leg pain they just can’t explain, without hesitation they bring in the infectious disease team or the neurology team and they become equal partners in my care. My doctors and nurses instinctively ask for each other’s advice and readily take it.

Many have suggested that Mayo Clinic is able to give this kind of synergetic care because its doctors work on salary instead of worrying about getting reimbursed for individual services. I’m no expert, but I don’t think the collaboration I see in my care could happen if they were paid on a fee-per-service basis.

And then there’s the nurses. Don’t even get me started on the nurses. If my nurse can’t jump at my beeping IV pole, another nurse jumps. I’ve lost all my privacy and any sense of body shame to my nurses, but I’ve been exposed to the most caring, think-ahead, comfort-first, confide-in-me caregivers the world has to give.

That’s why the last three days have left me feeling pretty good. I’ve kept the fevers pretty sparse but the naps pretty frequent. It’s tiring to grow bone marrow! My platelets keep hanging out too low – this morning they were at 7,000, so even rubbing my eye left me a nice lid bruise – but we’re working to bring those up. And I can fully walk again! Granted I’m a little wobbly, but when wasn’t I?

The “What Is The First Day That Jenna Is Going to Hit 500 Neutrophils?” Poll is flourishing on my room calendar. Apparently once my white blood cells start showing up in my morning blood work, that means my neutrophils are fast on their way. Once I’m at 500 for three days I can shift out of here and into the transplant house.

And so I ask you to lay down your bet. Here are the most popular answers from my doctors and nurses to the big question, “What Is The First Day That Jenna Is Going to Hit 500 Neutrophils?” 

It better not take longer than this 🙂 Please only vote once. Winners get full bragging rights!

To leave a comment,just click on “Comments” below this post. It will take you to a new page. Scroll to the bottom where it says “Leave a Reply.” Fill in your name, email address, and your comment in the boxes. When you’re finished, click “Post Comment.” It’s great to hear from you!

10 Responses to “Teamwork”

  1. JFart May 28, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    May 31st, Jenna! Don’t make me look like a fool now 🙂 Can’t wait to see you!

  2. Sharon Deutsch May 28, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    Lucky +23! (Although, reaching it before than is much welcomed 😉

  3. Jordan May 28, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

    Great to hear you’re back on your feet and walking again! I have total faith in you and the staff whose care you’re under.

  4. Amy May 28, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    Yay, Jenna…you go girl! I’m betting on June 3 (Day +22). Love ya, cuz 😉

  5. Betsy (Willing) Price May 28, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

    I’m thinking the 31st…glad you’re walking now!
    it does take a lot of people to care for someone in the hospital…regardless of where they are (took 15 to monitor my oldest and she was jus in for overnight monitoring…starting at 9PM and got to come home at 6AM) so it does take a lot…and it goes MUCH smoother overall if those people can work together as a team…when one falls outta place the whole thing crumbles – I’m glad you got a good team working to get you better and keep you well.

  6. Faith Cotter May 28, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

    Hoping for the earliest day possible. Hang in there!

  7. Suzanne Lindley May 29, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    Hoping for very soon, Jenna! Keep up the great progress!

  8. Kim May 30, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    Hi Jenna,
    I am a friend of Cindy’s from Lakeville Women of Today. I am also in healthcare so can understand part of what you are experiencing. I so enjoy your blog! Your positive attitude with a twist of humor and realism is fantastic. You have already conquered more in this world than most in a lifetime! Prayers for you daily and I KNOW you will win, as the world needs the redhead to keep the rest of us inspired. Now, I hope I will with the poll.
    Kim

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Planning the Welcome Party « The Redhead Report - May 31, 2011

    […] you haven’t voted in the super trendy poll I started taking in my last blog post, you should really place your bet. (Plus, you admittedly have […]

  2. Good Riddance and Happy New Year « The Redhead Report - January 1, 2012

    […] from patients before me who paved policies that eased it all. I came at just the right time, when my Mayo doctors had armloads of research to give me the best outcomes, and when Be The Match had 25 years to build […]

Leave a Reply

