Transplant Day

12 May

Well we pulled an all-nighter, very uncharacteristic of me. The bone marrow minus its red blood cells arrived sharply at 4 a.m. after a delayed 9 p.m. flight. The nurses hooked me up to all sorts of radars, monitors and maybe even GPS. Who knows.

After a few pre-meds, they let the bone marrow start dripping. Drip, drip, like a blood transfusion. Much to my dad’s pleasure, we used the occasion for a Glee marathon. Fighting through the IV Benadryl to squint through my favorite scene, I eventually resigned and just slept.

I could feel my heart heavy with the new marrow, beating faster to soak it in. My blood pressure rose to accommodate, but otherwise the transplant was the anti-climactic success we were aiming for.

Because of the delay last night, today is now my official Transplant Day. Tomorrow is Day +1, when the waiting game begins. Waiting for engraftment, for white blood cells to start growing and multiplying to form my brand new immune system. This usually takes 2-3 weeks, all time I have to spend tied to my IV pole in my hospital room. We’ll hope for boring days because boring days mean complications are at bay.

But as I was so enthusiastically reminded last night by my costume-designer friend Andi and her Children’s Theater Cast of Annie, those sunny tomorrows are only a day away. (you have to listen)

26 Responses to “Transplant Day”

  1. Ashlee Suker May 12, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    The Annie song made me tear up! Wholey moley. I’m glad everything went well and I hope every day is a step in the right direction 🙂 oh and Glee was fantastic!

    • Miki Schultz May 13, 2011 at 4:56 am #

      Loved the Annie song!! The Sun WILL come out tomorrow Jenna. You have a world of friends praying and pulling for you. God Bless!!

  2. heather loehrer May 12, 2011 at 11:35 am #

    Jenna! Where r u located right now?! And is there anything I can do? I love to entertain:) so proud of your courage and optimism. Glad to hear that the transplant was a success. Thanks for the update!

  3. Rose Forst May 12, 2011 at 11:46 am #

    Hey Jenna,

    Loved the song, brought a smile to my face on this rainy day! Get some rest and start to engraft. Thinking of you often,

  4. Gusty May 12, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    Jenna, I am soooo happy everything went well today!! I will be praying that everything works out! Take care! Love ya!

  5. Grandpa Dick & Grandma June May 12, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    Hi Jenna: Grandma & I were so happy to be able to visit with you on Tuesday. We are so proud of you and the courage, energy & attitude that you continue to display during this very difficult time. You are truly an inspiration to everyone who knows you, or even those who just know about you. You are one in a million Jenna! I thought about your donor and the logistics of getting her bone marrow to you all day yesterday and much of the night. I was so happy to hear from your dad this morning that everything worked out well and that you are OK. It is still a long hard road ahead, but you have proven your strength and ability to cope with it. You are constantly in our thoughts and prayers. God bless you, and your donor. She is my candidate for sainthood – right after you. Love you-lots!

  6. Sarah Rotering May 12, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    the voicemail brought tears to my eyes, how sweet!!

    thinking of you!!

  7. Beth Altmann Rewitzer May 12, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

    Jenna~

    So happy to hear that things went well!!! Keep going strong!!!

    Hugs!
    Beth and Tom

  8. Brittany Haala May 12, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    So glad to hear everything went well!!! Still will be praying for those boring days!:) You are truly an amazing person!!

    –Brittany

  9. Kirsten Langstraat May 12, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

    Jenna – YEAH!!! Thinking of you each day. Stay strong and thanks for the updates on your blog. You are an inspiration to us all.

  10. Melissa Marquis May 12, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    Jenna- Your blog is amazing! So happy to hear that the transplant went well! Thinking of you every step of the way!! You truly are an inspiration!!

  11. Fran Albright May 12, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

    JENNA: praise the Lord, that’s all I can say! I’m amazed that the number of hits your blog has had, though I shouldn’t be surprised; your friends just want to be with you any whay they can.
    Ron, Sue and I are going to N.C. next week to see family, specifically
    Ron’s brother who has been in treatment for MDS.
    Love to you,
    Fran

  12. Nicole W May 12, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    Of course, a song about how dating unwisely leads to bad credit. That’s so apropos. Miss you!

  13. Vicki May 12, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

    Great news! I’m envisioning those white cell growing. You are still number one in my nightly prayers.

  14. Greg Kaiser May 12, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    Good to hear everything well went!

  15. Greg Kaiser May 12, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

    Good to hear everything went well! Let the grafting begin!!!

  16. Greg Kaiser May 12, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

    Good to hear everything went well!!! Let the grafting begin!!!

  17. Franklin Gauer May 12, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

    Here come some positive vibes from Boulder, Colorado!!! The epic Mecca of positive vibes!!!! Keep it up and get out of there!!!!

    Best wishes!!!!

  18. kat woodward May 12, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    Jenna you are absolutely inspiring. I’ve made it my mission to inspire my office to register on Be The Match. You are wonderful. Take Care!!!

  19. Monica Foley Fleegel May 12, 2011 at 6:29 pm #

    Hi Jenna,
    I am a friend of your Mom’s friend high school (yes a very long ago friend!)
    I love your positive attitude and spirit…it’s inspiring.
    Tell Lisa “hi” from me and know that I work for Mayo and am in Rochester often so if she’d like me to come and take her for a lunch or dinner break…I’d be happy to do that.
    Take care and thinking many positive thoughts about you.
    (Also, LOVE that you mentioned Sr DeLourdes…anchor your pen, pull straight down, stop and lift) Such good memories.
    Monica

  20. Karen May 12, 2011 at 8:17 pm #

    You pulled an all nighter and still managed to provide a timely and inspiring blog entry today! You’re just that amazing! So glad to hear that things went well! Praying for many more boring days ahead!

  21. Heather Cable May 12, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

    Yay! So so happy to hear that all went well with the transplant – will be thinking about you and sending nothing but the best of wishes your way over the next few weeks. Rock on JL!

  22. Sarah Ivers May 12, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

    YOU GO GIRL! I can’t thank you enough for sharing this journey and keeping us all posted. Cheers to your new marrow and to many boring, uneventful days to come!!!

    xoxo

  23. Angie May 14, 2011 at 11:17 am #

    So glad to hear everything went well on your transplant day, Jenna! Keeping you in my thoughts.

  24. Laurie Strunk May 15, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

    hi jenna. just checking to see how u are doing.

    alysha

  25. Becky Musolf May 16, 2011 at 9:08 am #

    Hi Jenna, I heard about your need for a marrow transplant through some mutual Weber Shandwick co-workers. I left Weber a little over a year ago to work at Be The Match in our marketing department. Thanks so much for sharing your experience through your blog and my thoughts and prayers are with you through your transplant and the following days and years!

Leave a Reply

