On Mother’s Day

8 May

Here she is again. Her life interrupted with mine. Holed up in the vinyl trenches of my hospital room, just like seven years ago. Every night. Day-in, day-out, interrupting IV pole beeps, nurses, keeping track of medications, having the courage to tell the doctors how I really feel. 

My Mom's New Home

My mom reminds me it’s okay to cry. She’ll cry with me if I want her too. She tells me it’s alright to admit when things suck. But then she points to the tulips outside in the courtyard and reminds me that we’ve come through it, we’re going to get through it again, and we’ll have so many more wonderful things to celebrate in the future together.

My Brother Jack, My Mom and I at Senior Prom 7 Years Ago

I wouldn’t be who I am today without my worked-in, been-around-the-block mom. She should be just about worn out by now, but she’s not. I know I’ll be learning from her resilience and fortitude for years. 

My Mom and Me in DC in 2009

Happy Mother’s Day to All!

To leave a comment,just click on “Comments” below this post. It will take you to a new page. Scroll to the bottom where it says “Leave a Reply.” Fill in your name, email address, and your comment in the boxes. When you’re finished, click “Post Comment.” It’s great to hear from you!


17 Responses to “On Mother’s Day”

  1. Laurie Pappenfus May 8, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    What a beautiful tribute to your mom Jenna. Thank you for posting.

  2. Julaine Balbach May 8, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

    Jenna, You do have a great mom, and the best part about that is that you realize you have a great mom! One thing I do know is that when your kids hurt, you hurt. Moms want to take away all the pain from their children and put it on their shoulders! This is once again a time in your life when there is only one set of footprints in the sand because God is carrying you! Our prayers are with you always! Thinking of you!!!

    • Cyndi Hillesheim May 8, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

      Julaine said it perfectly! Your mom is a saint! She is also so blessed to have you as a daughter! Thinking and praying for you always.

  3. Dick E May 9, 2011 at 12:01 am #

    Jenna,
    I think you and I both stand in some awe and admiration of your mom. She’s a wonderful mom as you say and just an all around good person. She’s been fun to work with.
    I’m glad you’ve got her, and I’m glad she’s got you.
    Better days are coming for you both. God bless.

  4. Rose Forst May 9, 2011 at 7:48 am #

    Hey Jenna,

    Your mom is all of that and more! Thinking of you often,

  5. Vicki May 9, 2011 at 9:59 am #

    She is your best guide and advocate. Someone once told me the love of a mother is the closest thing to the love of God. God bless you mother. Prayers being lifted for you and your family each day.

  6. Robin Guadagnini May 9, 2011 at 10:06 am #

    Hey Sweet Jenna and Sweet Jenna’s Mom!
    What a wonderful tribute to your mother, who I know from my own Mom, would rather be no where else than with you going through all of this.

    She is a wonderful lady and has raised an amazing daughter.
    Love and hugs for you both!
    Robin

  7. Ann May 9, 2011 at 10:47 am #

    *wiping away tear* what a lovely note, Jenna. I bet your mom was a puddle when you showed it to her. She’s pretty proud of you too (in case you didn’t know).

  8. Connie May 9, 2011 at 11:34 am #

    Hi Jenna!
    Thanks for the update. What a beautiful mom you have!

  9. Clare May 9, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

    Hey there! Tell your mom I highly recommend an air mattress before her back gives out on that couch–yuck. (I think the couch was the beginning of Tom’s back problems.) Anyway, where else would your mom be? Thinking of you as always and especially on Day 0–the day of new beginnings.

    Clare

  10. Lois Guggisberg May 9, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    Jenna, you are so right, you have the best friend, teacher, and advocate in your mother. We all admire her guts and level headedness. Lets not let her get all high and mighty though, she may still have a fault or two!
    Glad to hear the tulips are blooming. Thought about them yesterday and wondered if they were doing their job, greeting people as they come and go through those hospital doors. They were in full bloom 19 years ago also. Take care and have a good week. Love, Lois

  11. Ann Seifert May 10, 2011 at 7:14 am #

    Hey Jenna,
    I’ve been thinking about you and praying for you every day. You are so blessed to have the mom God gave you. It’s so wonderful to know that you appreciate her and realize how much she has done for you! You are such a reflection of her, loving, caring and strong! Keep on believing and you will pull through all of this…there’s a reason for everything!

    With Caring Thoughts!
    Ann

  12. Lori Thom May 10, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

    Jenna, I can’t imagine that there is anywhere else your mom would want to be other than at your side. I am sure if she could, she would want to take your place so you did not have to go through this.

    Thinking of you often!

  13. Julie May 10, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    Dear Jenna,
    What a great tribute to your mom. She has had a great impact on the great, resilient person you are. Your sense of humor is great. My prayers are with you and also positive thoughts. I will also keep your donor in my prayers.

  14. Laurie Strunk May 12, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    Your mom totally rocks!

  15. javascript captcha code February 22, 2017 at 4:48 pm #

    Hiya! I simply want to give a huge thumbs up for the great info you’ve gotten here on this post. I shall be coming again to your blog for extra soon.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Good Riddance and Happy New Year « The Redhead Report - January 1, 2012

    […] donor and resolute medical team, none of these are concerns any longer. I have been blessed with an incredible caregiver – my mother who slept next to me every night and who amused me, a recluse in New Ulm, for months. I kept a […]

Leave a Reply

