Looking for Freedom

5 May

Countdown: Day -6.

I’m almost to the end of my fourth and final round of my first chemo drug. Tomorrow we switch to another. So far I’ve been handling it anxiously well. Not too physically sick if I can only not look at the line of chemo streaming straight into my heart.

Since my blood counts aren’t too low yet, I was able to venture out for two walks yesterday around the hospital (what Jimmy calls Looking for Freedom). I’m starting to feel a little numb from all these medications, but these David Hasselhoff videos from Jimmy’s home collection are keeping me quite piqued.

Until then, just trying not to let my surroundings get to me. Being off in a dead-end unit of the pediatric ICU, surrounded mostly be other drapes-drawn, lights-out patients, it’s hard not to be apprehensive.

Good thing we have a wide view and a calendar that keeps us looking ahead.

View from my room

My social life

To leave a comment,just click on “Comments” below this post. It will take you to a new page. Scroll to the bottom where it says “Leave a Reply.” Fill in your name, email address, and your comment in the boxes. When you’re finished, click “Post Comment.” It’s great to hear from you!

22 Responses to “Looking for Freedom”

  1. Sally Squires May 5, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

    Love the calendar! Great idea. View isn’t bad either. Sounds like you could also use some People, Newsweek and other commemorative issues of the Royal Wedding. What’s the best way to send them to you?
    Hang in there! You’re clearly becoming the new bionic woman!
    Cheers,
    Sally

    • Jenna Langer May 5, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

      Oh my dad brought my boatloads of wedding magazines. So many that most are obscure and I don’t think they’re really magazines. Good idea, though 🙂

      Thanks so much for your card. It was beautiful. I loved the pressed flowers.

  2. Clare May 5, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    On May 11, I will be sending marvelous vibes your way!! Are you going to play video games through it?:) I got treated to an early Mother’s Day meal last night and Anna gave me a cute pin that says, “One Fabulous Mom!” Can’t wait til you get one of those some day. It will make your day too! Feel free to get someone to pick up one from you for your mom. She sounds pretty wonderful (you can tell her it was my idea:))
    Clare

    • Jenna Langer May 5, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

      She’s definitely deserving 🙂 Right now I have my dad getting her some much-needed non-hospital non-Jenna-leftover food. Happy early Mother’s Day, Clare!

  3. Ann May 5, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

    David Hasselhoff? Really? You must be bored. Although I find when I am worried, the best thing is something that makes me laugh, so maybe David is the way to go. Only six more days!

    • Jenna Langer May 5, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

      I don’t ask for these things. David comes to me.

  4. Ashlee Suker May 5, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

    Jenna, I love your positive attitude! It’s inspiring..

  5. Fran Albright May 5, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

    Thinking of you: tell your Mom that I have her in my prayers so she may be strong for you, I think her co-workers with the send-off party were amazing! It’sl that support that really does the lifting. I see your calendar is quite eventful; is your star sign Taurus?? Then definitely this is a good month.
    Ellen and I walked today; hardly any garbage to ick-up. If the sun stays out, Ron and I may need to go to the DQ at 3 p.m.
    Love,
    Fran

    • Jenna Langer May 5, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

      I am a Taurus, but I refuse to accept I’m that stubborn 🙂 I like the sound of a Gemini better, but who am I kidding? Hope you got to make it for a mini blizzard today.

  6. Cate May 5, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

    David Hasselhoff…really, are you kidding, that is hilarious. I’ve never had hair that great! I’m swooning.

    You would think Conway Twitty would have something just as appealing. Might be worth a you tube search.

    Bom, Bom, Bom,

    c.

    • Andrea May 5, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

      Oh man, Cate. That’s one racy country song. I love his pink suit…

    • Jenna Langer May 5, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

      Wow. That pants suit has got to be worth at least two good days.

  7. Melissa May 5, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

    You can add “The Stewarts visit” to your May 20th day 🙂 Hopefully you will be able to have a little visitor by then. Thinking about you lots.

  8. Jay Dommeyer May 5, 2011 at 3:49 pm #

    Jenna,
    I keep reading your updates and am thinking about you. I love your comment about a last apple fritter from New Ulm. What is it about
    those things? Kind of like mini donuts at the State Fair. Adam and Aaron always get me
    a fritter as a treat when we are traveling or hunting. Too bad they are so good for us.
    Greetings from your FFF.
    (fellow-fritter-fan)

    • Jenna Langer May 5, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

      You need to try a fritter from the Backerei. Baking for 50+ years at no more than 40 cents a piece, you can’t for wrong 🙂

  9. Andrea May 5, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

    Ok. Iknow you’re bored. This website may help…
    http://www.ssa.gov/oact/babynames/

  10. kelli passalacqua May 6, 2011 at 7:22 am #

    Thinking of you, Jenna! Kelli

  11. Beth Altmann Rewitzer May 11, 2011 at 9:39 am #

    Hey Jenna!
    Today’s the big day! I prayed extra hard for you this morning that God surrounds with a big caress! This will be so amazing for you and with your strong spirit and determination, you will recover quickly!!!

    Keep smiling!!!
    Love and Hugs coming your way!
    Beth and Tom

  12. Pat Hayden Hartman May 20, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    Auntie Shirley just stopped by and showed me how to get to your site!!(told you I was computer illiterate!!) You know we are all praying for you and will only accept the best from you cuz that is what you are…. THE BEST!! Love ya. pat

Leave a Reply

