A Royal Departure

2 May

Countdown: Day -9.

Well, here’s my new suite.

My suite

My mom and I left a dawning New Ulm at 5 a.m. this morning. I tried to get to bed early, but with all the action a-Twitter of Obama’s “We Got You, Osama” speech, how’s a former DC girl to get to bed? To ease the morning, we detoured to the Backerei for a 40-cent Apple Fritter as a sort of sweet Last Breakfast, or so is my excuse.

We checked in to the four-room pediatric BMT unit promptly at 7 a.m. It’s quite quiet. I’m tucked in an area away from the unit I was in before. For immuno-compromised patients like soon-to-be-me, this unit is specially ventilated and brimming with masks and gloves, so the separation is for good reason. We even got the hoped-for street view. I’m like one of those old people who likes to watch traffic now. My mom is familiarizing herself with the cafeteria order schedule and rules (“No, BMT-patient Jenna cannot order a salad”), making the couch into a makeshift bed for her, and mapping out the essentials – water pitcher, closet space, business office, thermostat.

A very Mayo-ish cavalry of 10 doctors (+residents +fellows) nurses and pharmacists visited my room this morning on their rounds. They okayed my first round of chemo, which was delivered without a hitch over the last few hours. My hair is still latching on and I’m eating cookies at my normal intake level, so given the measures that really count, I’m doing fine.

(Assume English accent) Of course things were much more rigorous this weekend as a few high school lady friends reveled me in a rather lavish Royal Wedding Affair send-off.

The Royal Wedding Party:

...

....

....

....

Needless to say, my mom and Aunt Cate worked really hard to assemble the excessive party I had planned. And, not to be outdone, my mom’s co-workers held quite the regal “Redneck Wedding” send-off:

How They Do in Brown County

And until I make my worldly reappearance, I’ll just keep singing my laments, but reminding myself: 

My Soon-To-Be Addition to My Hospital Room. Lucky Doctors.

To leave a comment,just click on “Comments” below this post. It will take you to a new page. Scroll to the bottom where it says “Leave a Reply.” Fill in your name, email address, and your comment in the boxes. When you’re finished, click “Post Comment.” It’s great to hear from you!

17 Responses to “A Royal Departure”

  1. Clare May 2, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    Love it! Nothing could be finer!! Sounds like a great bash.

    • Cyndi Hillesheim May 2, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

      Sounds like you all had such a fun time! You are so creative!

  2. Katie May 2, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    Jenna, I love this! It doesn’t surprise me one bit that you have amazing family and friends!!

  3. Nicole May 2, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

    What an AMAZING party! Keep up the good work on the cookie front.

  4. Sara Martin May 2, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    Impressive party! Lovely hats, and now I want to make lemon curd! Furthermore, thanks for the Pretty Pretty Princess memory — If I had a nickel for every time I played that game with my (sister/cousin/niece/etc.) I might be as wealthy as a royal.

  5. Laura Haubrich Rylander May 2, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

    jenna, sweetie, you’re so very amazing. your writing is wonderful and your spirit seems strong. you are in my thoughts. hope to see you in dc one day soon. take care 🙂

  6. Julie May 2, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

    Jenna,
    Thanks for sharing the royal party pictures. What a great idea for a party. My thoughts and prayers are with you. I hope to see you in a few weeks, hopefully with the Stewarts in toe!

  7. Ashlee Suker May 2, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

    Thinking of you Jenna! I love the royal party photos.

  8. mamabearsarah May 2, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

    um, where was my invite??

    (you used the royal name maker!)

    keep kickin’ ass my dear! thinking of you and sending good juju!!

  9. Angie May 3, 2011 at 12:23 am #

    Looks like a great party; I’m still loving that poster! Thanks for keeping us updated, Jenna.

  10. Robin Guadagnini May 3, 2011 at 6:43 am #

    Hey Jenna!
    I love your party!! That outdid mine hands down!!! and what fun! You all looked lovely!!!
    And I love your new “suite” and so very pleased the first round went swimmingly (still stuck with my English accent after Friday).

    Sending you a hug and love,
    Robin

  11. Vicki May 3, 2011 at 7:58 am #

    Jenna,

    Love the party pictures. A celebration of refinement and style. And now it begins, sounds like you mom and you have your routine down. As we say in Texas, this is not your first rodeo. Just for an update Be The Match was at Sam Houston State University for four days. I shared your story often. I’ll send you the total of people who registered. You are in my nightly prayers!

  12. Lucia May 3, 2011 at 8:24 am #

    A FABULOUS royal send-off, Jenna! And, I love your Prince Harry poster. Thinking of you!! ~Lucia

  13. Rose Forst May 3, 2011 at 8:42 am #

    Hey Jenna,

    I have not had lemon curd before. Sounds, um curdy. Hope all is going well. Nice quilt. The doctors will love the poster. He is a hottie. Thinking of you often.

  14. Mary May 4, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    You look snug as a bug, Ms. Jenna, in your Mayo suite. Here’s a fond “Cheerio” to you, and may the chemo do its job swift and sure.

  15. Janis Borchers May 4, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

    I loved reading about your party and seeing the pictures! You have such wonderful friends and family :-). Stay strong, my dear. Hugs and prayers, Janis

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Good Riddance and Happy New Year « The Redhead Report - January 1, 2012

    […] jokes. I relied on a father (also stupid, but welcome, jokes), a brother, grandparents and other friends and family with the liveliness to heal. I benefitted from years of advocacy work from patients […]

Leave a Reply

