It’s All Coming Back To Me

28 Apr

Surgery went well yesterday. They found my jugular vein alright to run the hickman through it. (how gross is the word jugular?) I’m now the proud new owner of chest tubes. Jealous? My new goal over the next few months is to not clumsily rip them out, pull them, or step on them when hooked up to my IV pole. 

The surgeon was definitely my kind of guy. Not only did he leave a heart-shaped bandage on my neck, but he preemptively painted my gas mask with strawberry Lip Smackers to make inhaling the anesthesia that much better. Ah, just like they did when I was seven when bubble gum was the flavor of choice. 

Another plus of pediatrics

I slept most of the day yesterday. I think they gave me a little too much anesthesia. Do you know that some people come out of anesthesia kicking and punching? The anesthesiologists specifically asked me if I did so beforehand. Apparently I need to be a bit more creative.

Practice chemo. By now I should be on varsity.

“I must admit, my anti-seizure meds are making me feel out of it,” I said to my nurse as I plopped down on the bed for practice chemo this morning. That’s a new one. Never had anti-seizure meds before, but I need them for this first chemo drug.

But a lot of this experience hasn’t been so new. It’s all coming back to me now. I think I’ve impressed with my experienced IV pole-maneuvering skills. And my dad knows exactly where to park in the ramp and rides the slow drivers who don’t. When I’m about to get an IV, my mom knows exactly when to distract me with Glee conversation. Maybe chemo regimen isn’t the best thing to be well-versed in, but it sure helps.

P.S. While I do not endorse the claiming of one’s ginger-ship as a flaw, this week’s ginger confession on Glee is worth bringing to light:

To leave a comment,just click on “Comments” below this post. It will take you to a new page. Scroll to the bottom where it says “Leave a Reply.” Fill in your name, email address, and your comment in the boxes. When you’re finished, click “Post Comment.” It’s great to hear from you!

32 Responses to “It’s All Coming Back To Me”

  1. kelli passalacqua April 28, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    🙂

  2. Sally Squires April 28, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    Jenna: Clearly, none of the drugs are affecting your keen observation or your great sense of humor! You really are THE bionic woman. Many thoughts and prayers continuing to come your way.
    All best,
    Sally

    • Jenna Langer April 29, 2011 at 8:25 am #

      Sally – thanks so much for the BEAUTIFUL card! It’s frame-worthy! Really good to hear from you.

  3. Melanie Ofenloch April 28, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    Girl, totally thinking about you and praying for you everyday! We missed you at WSWA, but it went smashingly.

  4. Vilmarie Rodriguez April 28, 2011 at 11:33 am #

    Jenna:

    Your note was beautiful and touching. All I can tell you is we are going to take good care of you. I am glad to decided to stay with your pediatric doctors. You are a delightful and inspiring young lady.

    Dr. Rodriguez

    • Jenna Langer April 29, 2011 at 8:26 am #

      I’m so glad to be with you all. Thanks for taking such good care of me!

  5. Ann April 28, 2011 at 11:35 am #

    It’s all coming back to me too – the IV pole maneuvering, the parking (U of MN sticker very handy), the sleeping. Remember IT’S OK TO SLEEP. I thought you made varsity the last time you went through there, maybe they should check their records. Anyway – sending multiple blessings and good thoughts your way. Take care.

    PS – love your Twitter background….

    • Jenna Langer April 29, 2011 at 8:27 am #

      Yes… thanks for letting me use it 🙂 I love bleeding hearts. Now I kind of am one, I suppose.

  6. Karen Torseth April 28, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    Jenna,

    I have been thinking of you this week as you go through all of the preliminary events to get ready for the big event. You are an amazing young woman, keep your spirit up and you will do wonderfully.

    We are praying for you!

    Karen Torseth

  7. Gusty Whittington April 28, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    My thoughts and prayers are with you hun!!! Love Ya!

  8. Alex Raposo April 28, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    Jenna!

    I hope I know I think about you pretty much everyday and am sending much love.

    -Alex

  9. Clare April 28, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    Hey there! Glad the insertion went well. You would love being at Powell Tate today! The kids are all running around for “Take your Child to Work” day! Anna is having fun. She especially wants to meet anyone who bought her Girl Scout cookies–always a saleswoman! Perhaps she’ll go into PR some day. I am working a bit with Linda F and it brings back good memories of you setting next to her on the 10th floor….those were the days! Miss you around here and counting the days til your return. Go easy on your Hickman–don’t want to mess with that! Love you!

    • Jenna Langer April 29, 2011 at 8:30 am #

      Thata girl!

      Now just trying to master how to saran wrap myself enough to take a shower with this stupid thing…

  10. James Vancura April 28, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    Can your next post be titled “I would do anything for love but I won’t do that”? This would maintain the current Meatloaf theme.

    • Jenna Langer April 29, 2011 at 8:34 am #

      I hope you realize I had forgone the original Celine Dion song for you. And the music video is extra dramatic. Mirrors and everything. God I’m a good girlfriend.

  11. Dick Embacher April 28, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    I dont’ know of anyone who inspires me more than you. I love your wit, your attitude and your spirit. It’s another example of the young teaching the old how to live life. I get pumped when I see a new “Redhead Report” come up on e-mail. After your description of Easter, I thought maybe you should retitle it Redheaded Red Neck Report”. Anyway blessings and prayers sent your way daily.

    • Jenna Langer April 29, 2011 at 8:35 am #

      Ha! I think the Reheaded Red Neck Report is well deserved!

  12. Laurie Pappenfus April 28, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    Hi Jenna,
    I’m a friend of Aunt Sue’s. I have been keeping track of your progress and have been praying for you and your family as you go through this yet again. Your courage, humor and intelligence are a blessing to us all.
    Love and prayers,
    Laurie Pappenfus

  13. Vicki April 28, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

    Currently you are number one on my nightly prayers.

  14. Fran Albright April 28, 2011 at 7:23 pm #

    JJenna: The Twwins did not win this afternoon; I went to Target Field (my first time) with a friend, as sometimes even after being married all these years, I want to do soomething different wiwth a female friend.
    Be well. Thinking of you.
    Fran

    • Jenna Langer April 29, 2011 at 8:37 am #

      I’m jealous! I still haven’t made it there. Glad you had fun!

  15. Brittany Rask April 28, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

    I’ve been on the end of patients coming out of anesthesia kicking and punching, those 90 yr olds too are prob the fricken strongest. I bet you’d dance rather than punch if you came out of it right away. And that’s the most brilliant idea ever with the smuckers smell. You got a keeper team there.
    PS I totally was catching up on glee, tonight and I thought of you when her shirt said ginger. Stay strong, thinking of you often and wishing the best.

    • Jenna Langer April 29, 2011 at 8:38 am #

      That’s just brilliant to me! I need to up my game. I’m way too easy on the nurses. Congrats on making it that far with your Mayo interview. Timing really is everything.

  16. jessfischer77 April 29, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    The only thing missing in this photo is having had the proper setting. A simple gathering on the front porch, with a couple of coon dogs lounging near by on a lazy, sunny afternoon. Our “Low Tea” served Redneck style was the highlight of our day in review of the Royal Wedding. Royalty or Rednecks the support and message is the same: Yee-Haw Jenna! We love you!!!! Your friends at BCFS

  17. Laurie Strunk May 1, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    Hi Jenna – Alysha and I just did our update reading of the Redhead Report. We know tomorrow is the big day for you. You will continue to be in our thoughts and prayers. We KNOW you will be back to yourself in no time. BTW, yesterday I heard a commericial on the radio for “Be the Match”. Funny, I had never heard of that before, but now I am seeing ads and hearing info about bone marrow donations all the time. Take care,

    Laurie and Alysha

  18. Nancy Braam May 20, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    Hi Jenna

    Just wanted to wish you a HAPPY BIRTHDAY-hope you enjoy the day as much as you can. Hi to your Mom. Thinking of you both often. You continue to be in my prayers-love reading your blog-very creative.

Leave a Reply

