The Beginning

26 Apr

Today it all starts. I should say “Uh, finally,” but I’ve succeeded in running around like my normal busy-bee self for the last few weeks, so I’m closer to, “Can’t I have just one more day?”

Since my platelets are still just eeking by – I know this because I ran into the kneeler at church Sunday and the blood vessels in my ankle took two minutes to bump, purple and get that disconnected look – I’m getting platelets by the bagful this afternoon in preparation for surgery tomorrow. I need a double-lumen hickman, a device they implant in your chest and hook up with some pretty serious arteries that lead right to your heart. The docs need the hickman for the chemo, blood transfusions, transplant, medicines, etc. Apparently some of my drugs get all up in a tizzy if they touch, so I’m opting for the double. I need the hickman so I don’t have 10 IVs in my arm.

They’ll keep me overnight in the hospital on Wednesday and then start practice chemo on Thursday. I know, “practice makes perfect,” but really? Chemo? Apparently one of the chemo drugs metabolizes differently in people, so I’ll get a fourth of a daily dose on Thursday and the PhDs can tell me how I do. Rest assured, I’ll spend most of the day watching royal wedding coverage. (btw, very disappointed in the Wild About Prince Harry documentary on TLC last night. Way too sensational.)

Friday and Saturday will be spent making the final touches for my royal wedding high school sleepover party. Lemon curd is in the refrigerator, vintage hats are airing out, crumpet molds are on the front shelf and pearls are ready to be strung. I think it will be the perfect send-off for the following Monday (May 2) when I’m admitted to the hospital for good to start real chemo.

Speaking of send-offs, my family made every effort to give me a proper hicktown send-off on Easter. Really made this girl proud. Just like the good ol’ days, we had Easter out at the family farm. I think my favorite moment was when Pat’s F150 got stuck in the mud and my grandma, ahead of everyone else declares, “Well for gosh sake, ya gotta push it!” And then proceeded to be the first at the back of the truck (in her Sunday best, mind you) freeing the truck from the mud. 

My cousins return from their muddier-than-anticipated excursion in the backwoods. They weren't allowed inside the house after this.

Seemed like a good idea to pull a couch atop a trailer behind a four-wheeler. A nice Sunday ride through the countryside.

Crusting in the sun to help the mud shake off

...and then Patrick the firefighter decides to bring the couch over to the burn pile. And my uncle Tony dresses up for the occasion.

To leave a comment,just click on “Comments” below this post. It will take you to a new page. Scroll to the bottom where it says “Leave a Reply.” Fill in your name, email address, and your comment in the boxes. When you’re finished, click “Post Comment.” It’s great to hear from you!

19 Responses to “The Beginning”

  1. lotsofdishes April 26, 2011 at 9:57 am #

    jenna, what a send off- it sounds like it will make you tougher through your cure process. if you need some more royal wedding stuff, i hear there is a lifetime movie out now that might give you a dose if you are feeling bored one day.

    have fun this weekend, take some pics and let us know how the fun times go! (good luck monday too!)

    • Jenna Langer April 26, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

      I’ll have to check it out – sounds sensationally dangerous, but I’ll give it a shot 🙂 Thanks!

    • Lois Guggisberg April 27, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

      Well, well I am so disappointed! First of all you girls never let me join the dance line and now I’m not even invited to the wedding party of the century! Just tell me, who has more hats then I.
      Seriously Jenna, Good luck with your next step in treatment your still in our prayers.
      Nice article on donation. Remember everyone, it’s important to let your family know your wishes. Check yes for organ donation on your license also

      • Jenna Langer April 29, 2011 at 8:23 am #

        Your hats are such the inspiration! I should have asked to borrow a few. Just continuing on the family tradition…

        And great call out on being an organ donor!

  2. Sue Dommeyer April 26, 2011 at 10:26 am #

    Lots of love and luck in the coming days. Be thinking about ya!

    btw, I dvr’d the Prince Harry program on the 11:00 showing last night (I believe Swamp Loggers, or maybe it was Pawn Stars got the 9:00 sweet spot). Still gonna watch it…

    • Jenna Langer April 26, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

      While I would never endorse Swamp Loggers over royal wedding ta-da, my dreams of what Prince Harry is like are much better than what they had him cracked up to be. Good choice.

      P.S. finished going through ALL my boxes last night. Our family room didn’t look too hot.

  3. Cate April 26, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    Oh Jenna…such an Easter it was. Cliff has been sleeping under a blanket…he’s cold without all his fur.
    Wish Jimmy could have been there?…or maybe not?

    See you in few days–be good, hug your mom for me.

    Cate

    • Jenna Langer April 26, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

      Jimmy would have been the instigator. Would have definitely brought out the 6-year-old in him. Hope Cliffy is recovering…

  4. Rose Forst April 26, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    Hey Jenna,

    Best of luck as you start this part of your journey. Those mud pics are great. Our niece and nephew came out saturday to ride Lyle’s 4 wheelers and they too were full of mud when they were done but what a fun time they had. Totally worth the long pressure wash process that followed! Thinking of you often,

    • Jenna Langer April 26, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

      Glad to hear you were able to get down and dirty too!

  5. Sara Martin April 26, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

    I’ll be thinking of you tomorrow, and sending good thoughts your way. And re: the royal festivities, I think a substantial photo post is required… Vintage hats! Crumpets! I love it.

    • Jenna Langer April 26, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

      Oh it’s definitely on deck. Don’t you worry 🙂

  6. Fran Albright April 26, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

    Jenna: Best of luck, my prayers go with yoou. Thanks for the card today, I am “puffed up”, that you like it!
    I just make quilts for very speial people.
    Love,
    Fran

    • Jenna Langer April 26, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

      I love it! Can’t wait to bring it to my room.

  7. Heather Cable April 26, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

    Hi friend!

    Hope all goes/went well with the double-lumen hickman! Side note: “double-lumen hickman” kinds sounds like an amazing baseball pitch or a killer wrestling move of some sort… what do you think?! Seriously though – hope everything goes as smoothly and perfectly as possible. I’m thinking about you! p.s. the royal wedding party sounds amazing & I am soooo jealous of the trailer-couch excursion!

    • Jenna Langer April 26, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

      It totally does! Maybe I will be assuming athletic abilities through this transplant after all… and you would have done GREAT on the trailer excursion. I avoid pressure washers at all costs, but you, you could handle the mud.

  8. Connie April 26, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

    Jenna,
    We’ll be thinking of you and wish you best in the next few weeks. You are so amazing!!!!
    Love,
    Connie & Greg

  9. Lourdes September 24, 2013 at 3:58 am #

    We’ll give it to you immediately then you decide to make your determination.
    Possibly for almost any person have fun with washboard abs should they
    be willing for a little effort. Typically, these types of autos are usually in great
    operating ailments so the prospect of having was unfaithful are smaller.

Leave a Reply

