Good Enough

17 Apr

My nephrologist and I really hit it off. He was the first internal medicine DO (like Jimmy) at Mayo and his wife is from DC, so we spent a good extra half hour talking about the health policy of dialysis and lamenting my generation’s near refusal to pay for news. Oh, and he reads the Modern Love column in The New York Times every Sunday, too. Talk about earning a patient’s trust.

“I’ve got good news for you, and I know you need it,” he interrupted. I remembered why I was there. “I think your kidneys are fine. Good enough.” They are indeed a little pooped from the last round of chemo, but given that there are  really no options other than this bone marrow transplant, “good enough” is good enough for me. He’ll just work with Dr. Arndt to alter my chemo doses as necessary.

And so the countdown to BMT day continues. I’ve been trying to be creative in filling my time. 

On Friday night it was a dancing appearance at the bar in Lafayette, MN (population 530):

DJ night in Lafayette brings em out

Imani, even a honky tonk bar cant change my Single Ladies dance capabilities. Just working those red blood cells.

A few weeks ago I took pre-balding pictures courtesy of my aunt Ann (my mom prefers adult senior pictures, but let’s call it what it is):

Proof of my redhead-ism

And today I received a beautiful quilt from Jimmy’s New Ulm next-door neighbor Fran, which will be perfect for breaking up the blue and white of my hospital room:

Tomorrow I’ll round out my tests at Mayo and get a welcomed bag o’ platelets. From Rochester I’ll drive on to the gated communities of Chicago for my last trip in a good long while.

To leave a comment,just click on “Comments” below this post. It will take you to a new page. Scroll to the bottom where it says “Leave a Reply.” Fill in your name, email address, and your comment in the boxes. When you’re finished, click “Post Comment.” It’s great to hear from you!

17 Responses to “Good Enough”

  1. mamabearsarah April 17, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

    where else in the world but in these parts would you get a homemade quilt from a neighbor of someone? only HERE. that’s why you’re in the best place possible, near your mama and grandma and a whole lot of people who are pulling for you!

    • Jenna Langer April 19, 2011 at 11:05 am #

      Agreed! And in a town where I can run into a certain someone whenever I get a cup of coffee!

  2. Karen April 17, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    There’s so much to love about this post–the pictures (I miss your dance moves!), the fact you found a doctor who shares your appreciation for the Modern Love column, Friday nights in Lafayette, homemade quilts…but most of all, I love that you got good news on your kidneys! Woohoo! Have a great time in Chicago!

    • Jenna Langer April 19, 2011 at 11:06 am #

      It’s all the good stuff, I know 🙂 And rumor has it St. James isn’t all that different 🙂

  3. MargeauxG April 17, 2011 at 11:34 pm #

    Perhaps your Dad’s kidney bean theory wasn’t so bad after all! I’m so glad you’re able to come down to Chicago to keep Jimmy in line. Myleea and I dropped off some iron-rich treats for you two tonight.

    • Jenna Langer April 19, 2011 at 11:07 am #

      I saw that! And in true Jimmy fashion he ate it for breakfast, lunch and dinner yesterday. Very sweet of you two.

  4. James Vancura April 18, 2011 at 5:26 am #

    Nice moves. Mine are better but yours will suffice for now. We will work on it. I like Adult Senior Photos.

    • kat woodward April 18, 2011 at 7:39 am #

      you look great!!

  5. Rose Forst April 18, 2011 at 8:48 am #

    Hey Jenna,

    On to the windy city. ENJOY!! Take your platelets and run, is that like dine and dash??
    Thinking of you often.

  6. Fran Albright April 18, 2011 at 9:16 am #

    Jenna: The quilt on your page is so meningful for me, I never enjoyed the giving of a quilt, as you received from me last night. It’s on my camera and I have looked at it. Ellen has a role, and she is perfect in her role, I am your friend, not just Jimmy’s neighbor.
    I’ll pray for your traveling mercies as you travel to be wiith JAV.
    Love,
    fran

    • Jenna Langer April 19, 2011 at 11:08 am #

      Well of course! You wear many hats, Fran 🙂 Thank you so much again. My mom just loved it.

  7. Ann April 18, 2011 at 11:43 am #

    Nice to hear about your kidneys. I don’t think I’ve ever typed that sentence before. Anyway – re: your message on the hat: sorry, but I am completely certain that I don’t have it any more. I know, hard to believe I would let something that flattering slip through my fingers.
    Anyway, load up on the blood products and have fun in Chicago! Remember the “no hitting Jenna” rule! See you soon.

    • Jenna Langer April 19, 2011 at 11:09 am #

      Giving away such a hat must be sacrilegious in royal circles…

  8. lotsofdishes April 18, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

    Have a good time in Chicago, lady! Keep the blog comin’ when you can!

  9. Denise April 25, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

    Hey Jenna-
    It’s your friend from Sleepy Eye:) It was hard to hear your news, but we know you are a strong, young woman who will conquer!!! Your faith and positive attitude made an impression to so many people through your last adventures with cancer. I have always thought of you whenever I had to deal with my minor medical issues the past couple years. I thought, “Wow, Jenna had to go through so much more than this. If she could do it, I definitely can go through my …..without complaining”.
    Hang in there girl. We are saying prayers for you and your family through this next chapter. Nice photo-you are a beautiful redhead.
    Take care-
    Denise

    • Jenna Langer April 27, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

      Hi Denise – thanks so much for your note. Good to hear from you! Kyle told me about your “get organized” surgeries, and I had thought of you often. I hope you’re healing right up! Really appreciate hearing from you.

Leave a Reply

