Drive

31 Mar

I’ve always known I work with incredible people. But yesterday, the overwhelming support from my colleagues in DC and across the country reaffirmed just how driven they are.

My Powell Tate coworkers really rocked out the Be The Match Registry Drive yesterday – more than 40 people got swabbed! In the land of fast-paced DC-ers who jump from conference call to conference call, that’s huge. Donations for Be The Match were collected and many who couldn’t make it committed to order home registration kits through the Be The Match website. Not only was it successful numbers-wise, but it was also pretty! Check out our primped office:

The Powell Tate | KRC | Sawyer Miller office all spruced up for the big day.

The beautiful Heather Cable helping Andy Spiegel, CEO of the Colon Cancer Alliance, do his registration paperwork.

Melanie Simmons, our office manager, helping people get swabbed.

It costs Be The Match $100 to register each new potential donor, so anything you can give is moolah to a worthy cause.

Pam Jenkins, president of Powell Tate, said it best in her PT Insights blog post: “sometimes it takes bad news to motivate us to make a difference.” But not everyone follows through with the enthusiasm my D.C. colleagues have. A huge thank you to the entire team who put in extra hours to plan the drive – from designing the flyers and website to collecting registrant names to volunteering at the drive. You guys are really making me miss you!

Finally, Harris Diamond, CEO of Weber Shandwick, sent an office-wide email not only to the Weber Shandwick network, but also to the gamut of agencies that belong to our parent company IPG, encouraging everyone to consider joining the Be The Match Registry. You can bet that message was heard far and wide – not only because it reached so many, but because we’re all PR-ish people who can’t keep our mouths closed when it comes to this stuff. I’ve received heartfelt messages and commitments to join the registry from Minneapolis (where I interned in college), to Detroit, Austin to New York and Seattle. Harris definitely set the tone when he said that joining the registry is “an opportunity to help out a member of our family.” I certainly felt that way.

I’m so lucky to have an entire network of supporters behind me, willing to lend their voices (and bone marrow). Now I’ve just got to hurry up and get back to DC!

To leave a comment,just click on “Comments” below this post. It will take you to a new page. Scroll to the bottom where it says “Leave a Reply.” Fill in your name, email address, and your comment in the boxes. When you’re finished, click “Post Comment.” It’s great to hear from you!

8 Responses to “Drive”

  1. Sally Squires March 31, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    I heard it was an awesome event, Jenna. Due to business travel, I missed it, but am sending for my kit now so that I can be part of the Registry. Counting the days to your return to DC!
    Best,
    Sally

    • Jenna Langer April 1, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

      Good to hear from you, Sally! Missing all our fast-paced projects!

  2. Lucia March 31, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

    I don’t know if you heard, but one of your CMS clients was here too!

    • Jenna Langer April 1, 2011 at 2:26 pm #

      And she wrote me a note too – how sweet!

  3. Clare March 31, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

    We were so pleased to do this in your honor, Jenna, and we hope we can help other patients in need. Glad you are so close to finding a donor–that’s terrific news! We are also having a bone marrow drive to join the Be the Match Registry at Ben’s Run on Saturday. I came across your race number for the run and I am holding it til I see you again–along with a Ben’s Run shirt, of course! Can’t wait to give it to you in person.
    Take care my friend!

    • Jenna Langer April 1, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

      Clare, you are making such a difference! I can’t wait to see photos of Ben’s Run. I would say I’d run remotely from Minnesota, but let’s be real 🙂 Can’t wait to get my number and shirt in person. Thinking of you this weekend!

  4. jewels April 1, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    Great blog. Love your attitude and sending best wishes your way.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Good Riddance and Happy New Year « The Redhead Report - January 1, 2012

    […] donors, one of whom would donate to me when she was only 19. I had great health insurance, an accommodating employer, a cozy home in which to recover. My hair is now reddening and […]

Leave a Reply

