The Sunny Side

29 Mar

I know I’ve been quiet lately. It isn’t you. It’s me. I ventured to the gated community suburbs of Chicago on a much-needed trip to visit Jimmy. He just happens to be taking both his DO and MD medical school boards at the end of May, so all this bone marrow transplant stuff is far from friendly timing.

During my Chicago-land frolics, it became increasingly apparent to me that there is in fact a sunny side to low blood counts, namely:

  1. I can push people down and they can’t push me back.
  2. I don’t have to clean a bathroom for at least six months.
  3. I can take naps whenever I want. Even at inopportune times.
  4. People frequently offer to buy me steak in the hopes of raising my iron levels.
  5. The colorful bruises I’ve been known to collect can’t be definitively attributed to clumsiness.

In addition to my ability to ward off blood transfusions for a week, my visit included several much-needed sunny sides. Among them:

 

We caught the early show downtown at Andy's Jazz Club, meaning we saw a band of 70 year-olds on the brink of swaying their hips too hard.

I visited Sacred Heart, the nursing home convent of my late great aunt. Sister DeLourdes, one of many nuns here who spent time in New Ulm, just turned 100!

I witnessed manly medical students playing dodgeball in jean shorts. Competitively.

Now, with images of stretching jean shorts dancing in my head, I’m preparing for tomorrow. It’s a big day. Not only is Powell Tate hosting a Be The Match Registry Drive at the office for all DC-ers (stop by and get swabbed if you’re in the Metro Center area!), but I’m meeting with my docs at Mayo to hear the gameplan. Not only am I anticipating the unveiling of my lucky match, but I hope we’ll get a timeframe of when the donor is able to do the good donating deed. I’m hoping the ball moves pretty quickly from here.

I’ll update tomorrow on both counts. Thank you for your continued support.

To leave a comment,just click on “Comments” below this post. It will take you to a new page. Scroll to the bottom where it says “Leave a Reply.” Fill in your name, email address, and your comment in the boxes. When you’re finished, click “Post Comment.” It’s great to hear from you!

21 Responses to “The Sunny Side”

  1. erika hanson brown March 29, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    Jenna:
    There is no question – you are the cutest, most adorable little redhead in the entire universe.
    And that’s the truth.
    xxx
    e.

    • Jenna Langer March 31, 2011 at 11:37 am #

      You are always my first exclamation points on my page 🙂 Love it!

  2. Julaine Balbach March 29, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

    WHAT???? The famed, most notable nun in the world (well, my world anyway) is your great aunt???? Sister DeLourdes!!! I love her! I seriously thought she had passed away a long time ago! She was my art teacher in high school! She was known for “Anchor your pen, pull straight down, stop and lift”!!! Good Lord, I still remember! That is hilarious! She is a very talented artist with a wonderful sense of humor. Jenna, she made our wedding invitations! I still know how to do calligraphy! Well, thanks for taking me down memory lane! WOW!! That was fun! LOL!! You are just one amazing woman! Good luck at your appointment! We pray it is a favorable and productive meeting! Thinking of you as always! Julaine

    • Jenna Langer March 31, 2011 at 11:27 am #

      Now I confused you! My late great aunt who was at Sacred Heart is Sister Anna Domeier. Sister DeLourdes is just also there and of course I make a point of visiting her because she was my mom’s art teacher too. I’ve heard “Anchor your pen, pull straight down, stop and lift” so many times! She’s such an awesome woman – still totally with it and sweet as ever. Glad you enjoyed the photo!

  3. Sarah Ivers March 29, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

    Sounds like a sweet getaway, I swear both you and Jimmy have sunshine coming out of your you-know-wheres
    love you! Good luck tomorrow!!

    • Jenna Langer March 31, 2011 at 11:27 am #

      You know, Sarah, sometimes I do see beams emanating from Jimmy. It’s the weirdest thing 🙂

  4. Rose Forst March 30, 2011 at 7:47 am #

    Hey Jenna,
    Thanks for the sunny update. I will be thinking of stretched jean shorts all day now. Stay strong. Thinking of you often,

  5. Susan Neale March 30, 2011 at 8:42 am #

    Dear Jenna,

    You are in my thoughts and prayers often, and especially today! I hope today’s meeting will lay out the plan that will return you to good, strong health, and with the best timeline. Thank you for keeping us up to date.

    A big hug from all of us!

    Susan Neale

    • Jenna Langer March 31, 2011 at 11:28 am #

      Mrs. Neale, thanks so much for letting us go to your place on Lake Michigan last weekend! I would have posted photos, but of course I forgot to take some. We had a WONDERFUL time – even made it down to the beach for a bit. Really appreciate it.

  6. Mary Mizen March 30, 2011 at 9:39 am #

    Hi Jenna – I’m Susan Neale’s sister. Remember, we met last summer in Indiana, and again at Kyle & Margeaux’s wedding?

    I thinking of you often and sending you all my positive vibes and good thoughts. Good luck at your meeting!

    • Jenna Langer March 31, 2011 at 11:29 am #

      So good to hear from you! I definitely remember you. Hopefully there will be more Indiana visits in the near future where our stays overlap 🙂

  7. Clare March 30, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    Hey Jenna! I am sitting in our conference room watching lots of people come thru to get their mouths swabbed and join the registry. We are so thrilled that we have had such a good turnout and are pleased to be doing this in your honor! I hope you are having a good day and hearing some good news at your dr appt. We are all thinking of you and pulling for you!!
    From all your Powell Tate, KRC and Sawyer Miller friends and colleagues

    • Jenna Langer March 31, 2011 at 11:33 am #

      Loved the play-by-play yesterday waiting in the doctors office. I’m so thankful for you guys.

  8. Melanie Ofenloch March 30, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

    Jenna,

    You are amazing! Praying for you for every step of this journey!

    • Jenna Langer March 31, 2011 at 11:30 am #

      You’re so sweet. Hope the Orlando event is shaping up nicely – I must say, I’m really getting bitter about that as they’re still forecasting SNOW in Minnesota!

  9. Linda Mertz March 30, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

    Hi Jenna!

    So sorry to hear of your relapse. We are rooting for you and know you can beat this once again. Our prayers are with you.

    Bob and Linda Mertz

    • Jenna Langer March 31, 2011 at 11:31 am #

      Thanks so much – was so excited to see you subscribed to the blog. Maybe we’ll bump into each other in good old NU 🙂

  10. Tara Portner March 30, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

    You are such an inspiration to everyone……always so positive! Please know you are in our thoughts and prayers, and I hope to hear more good news soon! Take care!

  11. Kacie Balbach April 3, 2011 at 11:32 am #

    Hello my fellow Bossom Buddy! 🙂

    First of all I want to apologize for not getting together with you & Jimmy when you were home! Matt & I would love to get together with you guys sometime! I’m not sure how often you are home & how often Jimmy comes home. I would also love to just get together with you as well! We always have so much to reminisce about! 🙂
    Second (Maybe should have been 1st) love the picture to go along with the jean shorts!! hehe You crack me up!

    It sounds like you have a lot of great support from your company & it is amazing!! You have a lot of supporters from everywhere, but to have your company do so much for you is awesome!! 🙂

    You are a very loved person Jenna!! 🙂
    You are in my thoughts & prayers!!

Leave a Reply

