A Simple Swab

23 Mar

A Simple Swab Could Help Save a Life. That’s the message Powell Tate – the Washington, D.C. public affairs firm where I work – is going out of its way to share with our entire building.

Next Wednesday, March 30, my colleagues are holding a Be The Match Registry Drive, encouraging all the business-suited people in our building to take a brief break from their Blackberrys and get a cheek swabbed. I knew all along I had stellar colleagues, but when news of my needed quick departure from D.C. came, they were not only supportive professionally, but personally. I get notes almost daily from a coworker or two telling me the Nerf gun on my desk still works (thank God).

My colleague Clare has led a dedicated team to put it all together, even though she’s in the middle of planning an April 2nd 5K race in honor of her son Ben. Proceeds from Ben’s Run will benefit the Blood and Marrow Transplant Fund at Children’s Hospital in Washington, D.C., the same hospital where I was diagnosed.

I had registered for the BEN-e-fit (ah, plays on words) a few months ago, hoping this could be my first 5K, but apparently having grossly diluted blood precludes one from doing anything in which I would almost definitely trip on my shoelaces and land face first in pavement. I’ll have you know I would have been at the front of the pack – this girl used to run the fastest mile in high school. Please consider donating at http://bensrun.weebly.com or, if you’re in D.C., register to run!

On top of that, Padilla Speer Beardsley – the Minneapolis agency I interned at before moving to D.C. – hooked me up with their client….drumroll….Be The Match. You’re now looking at a national Be The Match spokeswoman! They’re also putting together a bone marrow registry drive later this spring – more details to come.

Others are putting together teams for this spring’s Be The One Run around Lake Harriet in Minneapolis. And so many of you have told me that you’ve enthusiastically swabbed your cheeks and joined the Be The Match Registry.

There are just a few of the ways I have felt your overwhelming support over the last few weeks. I so very much appreciate your blog comments, Facebook messages, emails and everything else. Even if I don’t respond right away, please know that I’m reading everything and love hearing from you.

 

To leave a comment,just click on “Comments” below this post. It will take you to a new page. Scroll to the bottom where it says “Leave a Reply.” Fill in your name, email address, and your comment in the boxes. When you’re finished, click “Post Comment.” It’s great to hear from you!

12 Responses to “A Simple Swab”

  1. Clare March 23, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    Hey spokeswoman! Great news! Only seven days til the PT drive. We are looking forward to it!

  2. Sarah March 23, 2011 at 6:10 pm #

    You’re going to be one heck of a spokesperson! Congrats Jenna. This is going to sound weird, but you’ve “earned” it on so many sick-and-twisted levels.

    My former co-worker, Melissa, works for BeTheMatch and works closely with PSB, so you may cross paths with her. She’s great.

    Let me know if you’re ever up in the cities and I can meet up with you!

    • Jenna Langer March 31, 2011 at 11:43 am #

      Thanks, Sarah! Will be in touch soon to try to meet up!

  3. Vicki March 24, 2011 at 6:45 am #

    You have touched so many lives, no telling how many people will register to be screened because of Jenna. On Tuesday there was a blood drive at Sam Houston State for one of my co workers who will be having a stem cell transplant. Be The Match was there also. What a perfect recruiting tool. You know someone willing to donate blood would be also willing to do a cheek swab. 47 people registered and Be The Match will be returning to our campus again for 3 days in April. I’ve shared you story and it encouraging to hear good results from this program. I’ll keep you posted with a total next month. Love and prayers heading you way as always.

    • Jenna Langer March 31, 2011 at 11:47 am #

      What a great turnout! You do so much good work down there at Sam Houston – keep it up 🙂

  4. Jenna Bergendahl March 24, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

    I’m glad you wrote about the 5k because I didn’t know about it, and now I’m signed up. I have at least a couple people in mind who have talked about running a 5k this spring, so I’m going to recruit them to do this one.

    You’re going to make a great spokesperson! I’m following your blog, and I’m so glad to hear that you’ve got some great match candidates lined up. Hooray! 🙂

    • Jenna Langer March 31, 2011 at 11:48 am #

      Love it! I was supposed to run my first 5k this weekend in DC. Obviously that’s not happening. Just another sign that I shouldn’t try for athleticism 🙂

  5. Alex Ablamunets March 25, 2011 at 12:56 am #

    You inspire me!

  6. Lorraine Baumgardner March 26, 2011 at 1:50 pm #

    Hi Jenna,

    This is Margeaux Gagliano’s mom. I participated in a donor drive in which I gave a blood sample a number of years ago. Is that still good for determining a donor match or do I need to update my information with a swab? (That seems like a perfect spokesperson question, doesn’t it?)

    Mother of the Bride

    Lorraine Baumgardner

  7. seiko ワイアード October 10, 2013 at 10:06 pm #

    seiko 7s26

Leave a Reply

