De-Wisdomed

9 Mar

And now for my attempt to write on Vicodin…  My dental surgery on Monday was successful. All five teeth are out, much to the chagrin of my doctors because it was evident they would soon be probable sources of infection.

Since my platelets are low (31,000 – a normal minimum is 150,000), I had a blood transfusion before surgery. Of course I needed to make things difficult and had an allergic reaction to the very platelets that were supposed to help.  There’s nothing like a good shot of Benadryl through the IV to make things better. Now I’m taking all sorts of dizzying medications to make sure those platelets form clots. But, all in all, surgery went as well as it probably could have.

Before surgery on Monday Dr. Arndt dropped by while I was getting platelets to discuss the game plan for what to do while we wait for my bone marrow transplant. After all her consultations with Mayo experts, we determined the plan of attack is to do fancy bloodwork once per week to monitor the MDS and make sure it doesn’t turn feisty. It’s agreed that I need to stay as healthy as possible going into transplant, so as long as we can delay treatment, the better. If any blasts (symptomatic of AML) show up in my bloodwork, we’ll jump into treatment. I’ll also get blood transfusions as needed.

I’ll write more once these lovely painkillers subside. Until then, please join me in wishing my non-matched, but oh-so loved brother Jack a happy 22nd birthday today!

 

5 Responses to “De-Wisdomed”

  1. Lori Thom March 9, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

    glad to hear the surgery went well. continue to think about you and wish you a match found quicky!! I work with your mom at BCFS, Lori Thom

  2. Vicki March 10, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

    Sounds like a great game plan is in place and that you are getting the best care possible. I tried to do Be The Match, but was told I would not be able to because of past cancer treatment. I’ll encourage family and friends to sign up. SHSU will be doing their drive on campus 04/18-04/21. Wouldn’t it be great if we had a match for you! Good thoughts and prayers heading your way in my nightly prayers.

    • Jenna Langer March 10, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

      Vicki – thanks for trying! So many people have been telling me about local drives – that’s great! Thanks so much for your prayers.

  3. Kirsten Lesak-Greenberg March 11, 2011 at 10:14 am #

    Mashed potatoes…

    Will be your best friend following having those teeth yanked.

    Also, you still seem quite wise, despite the lack of wisdom teeth. 😉

Leave a Reply

